At Birthday Cakes London, we want to help all our customers to make informed choices about our products. If you are adhering to a special diet, or have a food allergy or intolerance, you will find all the information you need below.
To help you, a detailed list of allergens can be found in our Allergen Information.
If you have any allergies, please carefully check this guide.
Please note that all our products are baked fresh onsite in our bakery, which handle ingredients used to make all our products. While we do have processes in place to minimise the risk of cross-contamination, we have small kitchens and do not have segregated production lines, so cross-contamination of ingredients is possible.
All our kitchens handle all the main allergens of dairy, nuts, peanuts, gluten (wheat), egg, sesame, sulphites and soya.
If you have a serious allergy to any of these allergens, or one which could cause you to have a major allergic reaction, sadly the only way for you to be 100% safe is not to consume any of our products.
Information for Coeliacs
The Made Without Gluten collection is made with gluten free and non gluten containing ingredients, however, our kitchens handle ingredients containing gluten.
In the interests of your health and wellbeing, The Hummingbird Bakery does not claim our Made Without Gluten collection to be gluten-free. If you require further information on the ingredients used in our Made Without Gluten range please contact us.
Our Red Velvet cakes, cupcakes and tray bakes contain distilled white vinegar, which is fermented from barley. We have consulted with the Coeliac Society who have told us that if this vinegar is used in a food product then we must list the word ‘barley’ in the ingredients list in line with EU-wide allergen labelling law. However, as distilled white vinegar is made using a fermentation process, this means that the amount of barley, and therefore gluten, in the end product is extremely small and is well below a level which is safe for people with coeliac disease. This level is made even lower as the vinegar is used in very small amounts in the batter. The data spec sheet for the particular type of vinegar that we use confirms that no traces of gluten have been detected during tests. Please visit the Coeliac Society’s website for further information.
Our Pinata cakes and cupcakes are not suitable for vegetarians as they contain M&Ms. The rest of our products are suitable for vegetarians unless otherwise specified. There is no gelatine in the Marshmallow Fluff, our food colourings do not contain any animal products in them, and we do not use cheese that contains rennet in any of our products. We have had products in the past that contained bacon, and this will always be clearly identified in the product label. However we do not plan on bringing in any meat containing products for the foreseeable future.
Religious Dietary Information
None of our products are certified Halal or Kosher. We do not use alcohol in most of our products. Any products that do contain alcohol, this will be clearly listed in the ingredients section on the product’s page on our website, or on the counter card in-store. The white vinegar we use in some of our products (Red Velvet and Black Bottom especially) is distilled white vinegar and not white wine vinegar. If you do not eat eggs, then please check out our vegan range which is eggless.
We have a growing vegan collection online, and a more limited range available in-store in our counters. Please be assured that we also are aware that some sprinkles and cake decorations are not vegan friendly, and we will not put any of those onto the tops of our vegan goodies. We want to ensure that vegans get the same quality taste as our non-vegan products, and we will try not to charge more for vegan products than our non-vegan range. Sometimes vegan substitutes are more expensive, but we’re getting good at sourcing non-dairy and eggless alternatives for a keen price.